EDSA People Power Monument, Quezon City
25 February 2015

On the 29th anniversary of the EDSA People Power Revolution, President Benigno S. Aquino III led a wreath laying ceremony at the People Power Monument in honor of the unsung heroes who offered their lives for the country’s freedom from martial law.
Together with the President were Vice President Jejomar Binay, members of the Cabinet, Senate President Franklin Drilon, House Speaker Feliciano Belmonte, Jr., several mayors of Metro Manila, Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff General Gregorio Catapang, Jr., major service commanders of the AFP and Philippine National Police (PNP) Officer-in-Charge Deputy Director General Leonardo Espina.
As part of the anniversary, 600 members from the AFP and PNP reenacted the Unity Walk from Camp Aguinaldo to the People Power Monument that brought back the memory of what had happened in EDSA on February 23, 1986.
After the wreath laying ceremony, President Aquino headed to the Shrine of Mary, Queen of Peace, Our Lady of EDSA for the Holy Mass.

*  *  *