RTVM was organized in 1986 following the peaceful EDSA revolt. Before 1986, the organization that existed was Radio-Television-Movies, and adjunct of the National Media Production Center which was based in Malacañang. In 1987, Executive Order No. 297 dated 25 July 1987 was signed and issued by President Corazon C. Aquino, creating the Office of the Press Secretary and cites under Section 14 (attached agencies) the creation of the Presidential Broadcast Staff – RadioTelevision Malacañang.

Executive Order No. 297 designates PBS-RTVM as the entity with the sole responsibility and exclusive prerogative to decide on policy / operational matters concerning the television medium as it is utilized for the official documentation of all the President’s activities for news dissemination purposes and video archiving.

PBS-RTVM is involved in television coverage and documentation, and news and public affairs syndication of all the activities of the President, either live or delayed telecast, by national or local, government or private collaborating networks.

In an effort to carry out an effective and efficient broadcast media coverage and support service program, it seeks to provide the Presidency, in cooperation with various stations and networks, with the desired and appropriate media complement in order to keep the Filipino people in close track of the updates, activities and pronouncements of the President and the government.

PBS-RTVM is open and working 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, rain or shine. Its personnel are among the most dedicated workers in government, reporting for duty in the late hours of the night and the wee hours of the morning – packing heavy broadcast equipment, traveling to wherever duty calls in good roads and in bad. The main strength of the men and women of RTVM is their professionalism – working with minimum supervision and delivering the best product within the deadline required.

Since 1987, RTVM has served the administration of six (6) Presidents under the leadership of its former and incumbent Executive Directors.

Dennis Wilfred P. Pabalan
Virgilio P. Nadal, Jr.
Milton A. Alingod
Jesus Terry Adevoso
Glicerio M. Remonde
Gloria P. Mara
Ramy S. Diez
Maria V. Montelibano