Palo, Leyte
June 29, 2018

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte paid his respects to the six (6) killed-in-police-operation (KIPO) police officers whose wakes lie at Camp Ruperto Kangleon in Palo, Leyte.

The officers identified as Police Officer (PO) 1 Julie Escalo, PO1 Phil J Rey Mendigo, PO1 Rowell Reyes, PO1 Julius Suarez, PO1 Wyndell Noromor, and PO1 Edwin Ebrado were members of the 805th Regional Mobile Force Battalion (RMFB) 8 that had a misencounter with the Philippine Army’s (PA) 87th Infantry Battalion (IB) members at Barangay San Roque in Sta. Rita, Samar on the morning of June 25, 2018.

In recognition of their service to the country, President Duterte awarded the Order of Lapu-Lapu in ‘Kalasag’ medals to the slain police officers that were received by their families, and expressed the government’s commitment to assist them in their needs.

Under Executive Order (EO) No. 35, amending EO No. 17 (s. 2017), the Order of Lapu-Lapu is created to give recognition to government officials and personnel, as well as private individuals, for their contributions to the campaign or advocacy of the administration.

The ‘Kalasag’ Award, on the other hand, is among the Order of Lapu-Lapu medals particularly given to government officials and employees, as well as private citizens, who lost their lives in the line of duty or in an activity conforming to a campaign or advocacy of the President.

* * *