Camp Teodulfo Bautista Station Hospital, Jolo, Sulu
April 6, 2017

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte conferred the Wounded Personnel Medal to the two (2) officers and 26 enlisted personnel of the 41st Infantry Battalion (41st IB) , 5th Division (5D) of the Philippine Army (PA) confined at Camp BGen Teodulfo Bautista Station Hospital in Jolo, Sulu.

The Commander-in-Chief came to visit the wounded-in-action (WIA) soldiers in their hospital rooms and personally pinned the medals on each soldier and checked on their condition. The members of the 41st Infantry Battalion clashed with the Abu Sayyaf Group (ASG) led by Hatib Hajan Sawadjaan, Radulan Sahiron and Almujer Yadah in Talipao, Sulu last April 1, 2017.

The wounded officers include Lt. Col. William George Cordova, Battalion Commander of the 41st IB, 5D, PA and 1LT Joe Mari S. Landicho.

The other injured personnel include Sgt. Randy G. Balutoc, Sgt. Samian B. Calangan, Cpl. Crispin S. Agoy, Cpl. Brainard T. Dumondon, Cpl. Ronald Allan B. Lorenzo, Cpl. Jonathan D. Mukay, Cpl. Mariel J. Reboredo, Cpl. Ruben G. Olaso, PFC Jomar C. Avero, PFC Randy D. Culhi, PFC John Joseph S. Diaz, PFC James A. Layugan, PFC Daniel G. Paclay, PFC Rebushsein Babo E. Stock, PFC Ronald D. Tabliago, PFC Jun B. Terrenal, PFC Kristian B. Ayangao, PFC Jomar S. Yap, PFC Jomer B. Dalayday, PFC Yasher J. Bayongan, PFC Emerson M. Awingan, Pvt. Royman C. Talana, Pvt. Julius V. Ancheta, Pvt. Michael Xedric L. Adriatico, Pvt. Judie S. Domingo, and Pvt. Jefrey F. Viernes.

President Duterte also gave financial assistance and a cellular phone to each soldier, as well as offered a Glock 30 .45 semi-automatic pistol as their personal sidearm weapon.

The Commander-in-Chief was accompanied by Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff General Eduardo M. Año, Commanding General (CG) of the Philippine Army Lt. Gen. Glorioso V. Miranda, and Commanding Officer (CO) of the Western Mindanao Command (WESMINCOM) MGen. Carlito G. Galvez Jr.

*  *  *