Libingan ng mga Bayani, Taguig City
29 February 2016

Marking the 60th death anniversary of President Elpidio Quirino, President Benigno S. Aquino III led the ceremonial transfer and reinterment of the late president’s remains at the Libingan ng mga Bayani in Taguig City.

President Quirino was the third president to be buried at the Libingan ng mga Bayani, along with President Carlos Garcia and President Diosdado Macapagal. Though it has been a tradition to inter Philippine presidents at the said cemetery (which was previously done at the North Cemetery before President Garcia’s death in 1971), government has always considered the concerns of the president’s widow or family as to burial locations.

Full military honors were executed in honor of the sixth Philippine chief executive. President Quirino’s remains were reinterred from South Cemetery in Makati City.

At the end of the burial rites, President Aquino, together with Quirino’s descendants, witnessed the sealing of the urn receptacle.

Since the establishment of the Libingan ng mga Bayani during the late President Ramon Magsaysay’s term, it has served as the resting place not only of presidents, but of Filipino soldiers, national artists and scientists, and boy scouts as well.

Also present were members of the Quirino clan, former President Fidel V. Ramos, National Defense (DND) Secretary Voltaire Gazmin, National Historical Commission of the Philippines (NHCP) Chairperson Maria Serena Diokno, some members of the diplomatic corps, and military officers.

*  *  *