Club Filipino, Greenhills, San Juan City
23 May 2013

President Benigno S. Aquino III graced the thanksgiving celebration of the Liberal Party’s Team PNoy after the recent 2013 elections in which nine of its twelve senatorial candidates were elected as new members of the Philippine Senate.

“Ngayong gabi, ipinagdiriwang natin ang tagumpay na ito. Subalit ang tunay na halaga nito ay ang araw-araw na tagumpay na ipinagdiriwang ng mga Boss natin – ng mga Pilipino – sa susunod na mga taon dahil nagbunga ang kanilang tiwala sa Team PNoy, ” the President said.

He told the newly-elected senators from the coalition not to waste the chance bestowed to them and to fulfill the mandate of serving the Filipino people.

Meanwhile, President Aquino encouraged senatoriables Ramon Magsaysay Jr., Risa Hontiveros, and Jamby Madrigal, who was unable to attend, not to lose hope and continue to strengthen their aspirations to uplift the lives of their fellow Filipinos and the country. He promised them, “Sa susunod na halalan, mas dadagundong ang mensahe ng tuwid na daan.”

The President expressed his gratitude to all the members of Team PNoy, the staff and volunteers who painstakingly worked together throughout the 30-day campaign period. But most of all, he thanked the millions of Filipinos who chose to vote for the new leaders of the country. “Utang na loob natin sa kanila ang mandatong ito, at tungkulin nating tuparin ang anumang pangako at binitiwan nating salita sa kanila,” the President noted.

Present in the event were senators-elect Juan Edgardo “Sonny” Angara, Paolo Benigno “Bam” Aquino IV, Aquilino Martin “Koko” Pimentel III and Cynthia Villar.  Also in attendance were  Senator Franklin Drilon, Manila Mayor Alfredo Lim, and other local government candidates and winners.

*  *  *