Heroes Hall, Malacañan Palace
July 25, 2017

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte condoled with the bereaved families of 101 killed-in-action (KIA) soldiers present during the Salamat Magigiting na Mandirigma: Go Negosyo Kapatid for Marawi ceremony held in Malacañan Palace.

He also witnessed the turnover of financial assistance to the families extended by Go Negosyo Kapatid Family Fund, the Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (FFCCCII), the PLDT Foundation, and the spouses of Cabinet secretaries.

In his message, President Duterte honored and remembered the fallen soldiers and acknowledged their sacrifice in liberating Marawi City, saying, “The Philippines will forever be grateful for their heroism.”

“I would like to express my sincerest condolences to the families of our troops who perished in fighting for the liberation of Marawi. I know that no amount could equal to the precious life of your loved ones. May you find solace in the fact that the whole nation condoles with you in these trying times,” the President stated.

He commended the private sector for their assistance to the rehabilitation of Marawi City and for the support they have given to the government and to the grieving families. He cited an anonymous donor who donated PhP1 million for each family of the killed-in-action (KIA) soldiers.

The President also vowed to gather PhP 50 billion in trust funds for the education of the children of the Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) and the Philippine National Police (PNP) personnel. He mentioned that as of July 25, 2017, he had already collected PhP 20 billion for the trust funds.

The Commander-in-Chief also spoke to the government troops who are still in the battlefield and reminded them to be safe.

“May you remain strong in heart and mind. Honor your fallen comrades by making sure that your sacrifices will not be in vain, and do not be killed. Rest assured that the government is behind you as you continue this noble fight,” he added.

Together with the Chief Executive were former President and now Pampanga 2nd District Representative Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo, Presidential Adviser for Entrepreneurship Joey Maria Concepcion III, AFP Chief of Staff General Eduardo Año, PNP Chief Ronald dela Rosa, members of the Cabinet, and other government officials.

* * *