Reception Hall, Malacañan Palace
January 9, 2018

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte welcomed the new non-resident Ambassadors-Designate of Timor Leste, Paraguay, Estonia, and Malta during their presentation of credentials at the Malacañan Palace.

The new envoys are H.E. José Gaspar Dos Reis Correia Piedade, Non-Resident Ambassador-Designate of Timor Leste to the Philippines; H.E. Irineo Raúl Silvero Silvagni, Non-Resident Ambassador-Designate of Paraguay to the Philippines; H.E. Jaak Lensment, Non-Resident Ambassador-Designate of Estonia to the Philippines; and H.E. John Aquilina, Non-Resident Ambassador-Designate of Malta to the Philippines.

After accepting their credentials, President Duterte conveyed to the Ambassadors-Designate his hope of further strengthening bilateral relations with their respective countries, and spoke with each diplomat in closed-door meetings after the ceremonies.

The President was joined in the event by Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) Undersecretary Ernesto Abella and other high-ranking DFA officials.

*  *  *