Fort Andres Bonifacio, Taguig City
August 7, 2023

“And as you take the reins of the Army, I wish to remind you that the success of an organization depends on your willingness to work persistently with our citizenry and with the civilian government,” President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. emphasized as he led the Philippine Army (PA) Change of Command Ceremony at Fort Andres Bonifacio, Taguig City.

The President congratulated General Romeo Brawner Jr., outgoing Philippine Army Commanding General and currently Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff, for developing the Army into the progressive and resilient force that it is today, citing the establishment of a firm defense against insurgency and terrorism through dismantling of guerilla fronts and intensifying peace-building efforts.

He welcomed Lieutenant General Roy Galido, the 66th Commanding General of the Philippine Army, and called on him to work hand-in-hand with the citizenry, partners and stakeholders towards building a more agile, adaptable and competitive Army.

“I know that the journey towards this vision will test the limits of your character, but with the supervision, dedication and perseverance of Lt. General Galido and the rest of our troops in the Philippine Army, I am confident that we can rightfully achieve this in no time at all…We challenge you to lead and boost your institution’s engagements with its foreign counterparts. I urge the entirety of our Army to enhance your interoperability and communications, as well as to learn best practices through training and joint exercises which we intend to further expand,” the Commander-in-Chief said.

President Marcos Jr. gave a firm assurance that his Administration is fully committed to supporting the Philippine Army and the entire Armed Forces in its modernization program.

Lt. Gen. Roy Galido is a member of the Philippine Military Academy (PMA) ‘Bigkis Lahi’ Class of 1990. Prior to his appointment, he served as Commander of the Western Mindanao Command that overseas military operations in the Zamboanga Peninsula (Region 9), Northern Mindanao (Region 10) and the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM).