Davao City – University of the Philippines Sports Complex, Davao City
April 28, 2019

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte led the opening ceremonies of the 2019 Palarong Pambansa at the Davao City – University of the Philippines (UP) Sports Complex within the UP Mindanao Campus, Davao City.

This year’s sporting event from April 28 – May 4, 2019 centers on the theme, ‘Shaping the Future through Sports.’ It is considered as the biggest sports gathering in the country and a primary venue for providing in-school sports opportunities to improve the physical, intellectual, and social well-being of the youth.

The Palarong Pambansa is participated by 17 regions with 690 delegates per region.

In his message during the event, President Duterte congratulated the local government unit and the people of Davao City for hosting the annual sports event for the second time since 1950.

“I am proud that after so many years, my home city will once again have the honor to welcome promising young athletes from all over the country. I am confident that with the construction of the Davao City Sports Complex and the development of other sports infrastructures in the city, it could host other athletic events in the future,” the President said.

“Sports is truly an effective avenue to instill among the youth essential characteristics for nation building. Let’s encourage the parents to support their children to engage in sports and inspire them to always do their best in balancing sports and academics,” he added.

The Chief Executive also assured the people that the government would continue to promote physical education and other relevant sports programs that would support the athletes in reaching their dreams and aspirations.

The groups competing in the Palarong Pambansa are composed of the following — Region 1 Golden Kingfisher, Cagayan Valley Hawks, Central Luzon Patriots, CALABARZON The Heroes, MIMAROPA Tamaraws, Bicol Vulcans, Western Visayas Fighters, Eastern Visayas Golden Stingers, Zamboanga Sharks, NorthMin Stars, Davao Eagles, SOCCSKSARGEN Warriors, NCR Jammers, Caraga Brave Souls, CAR Fearless Highlanders, and Mighty BARMM.

Formerly known as the Bureau of Public Schools – Interscholastic Athletics Association Games or BPISAA, the national sporting event was renamed as Palarong Pambansa in 1974.

A crowd of approximately 20,000 people composed of the 2019 Palarong Pambansa delegates, coaches, teachers, students, and government officials attended this year’s opening ceremonies.