Heroes Hall, Malacañang
September 12, 2016

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte administered the oath of office of 43 newly appointed officials, mostly undersecretaries and assistant secretaries, from different government agencies and offices under the Executive Branch.

In his message for the new public servants, the President said there is a need for them to understand the government’s fight against crime, illegal drugs and corruption. He also talked about the dealings with Muslim secessionist groups and the root cause of the conflict in Mindanao, which has become a national security threat.

“I commit myself to do everything so as not to compromise the next generation… destroy the enemies of humanity,” he stated in closing speech.

Among those who were sworn into office include Commission on Higher Education (CHED) Commissioner J. Prospero De Vera III, Mindanao Development Authority Chairperson Datu Abul Khayr Alonto, Presidential Adviser on Legislative Affairs Adelino Sitoy, Philippine Charity Sweepstakes Office (PCSO) Chairperson Jose Jorge Corpuz, Metropolitan Manila Development Authority (MMDA) General Manager Thomas Orbos, and Special Envoy of the President to the Gulf Cooperation Council (GCC) Amable Aguiluz V.