Rizal Hall, Malacañan Palace
July 8, 2019

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte administered the oath of office to more than 200 newly appointed government officials in a mass oath-taking ceremony at the Rizal Hall in Malacañan Palace.

The President congratulated his fellow public servants for joining him in the noble task of serving the nation and most especially, the Filipino public who needs it the most.

He emphasized that the appointees should consider themselves “workers in government” and expects them to treat their appointment “not as an honor” but to “lead and to serve”.

At the same time, the Chief Executive issued a stern warning for them not to engage in corruption in order to restore the Filipino people’s trust in government.

“Protect the people and serve this nation,” President Duterte stressed in his message.

In the same event, the President announced that Taguig City (1st District) Representative Alan Peter Cayetano and Marinduque (Lone District) Representative Lord Allan Velasco shall have a term-sharing agreement as House Speaker in the House of Representatives. Leyte (1st District) Representative Ferdinand Martin Romualdez shall become the Majority Floor Leader.

* * *