State Dining Room, Malacañan Palace
January 26, 2023

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. convened with the Private Sector Advisory Council (PSAC) Tourism Sector led by Sabin Aboitiz (PSAC Strategic Convenor and Aboitiz Group President and Chief Executive Officer) to discuss the group’s updates on the ‘Quick Wins and Strategic Recommendations’ roadmap in a meeting at the State Dining Room in Malacañan Palace.

The ‘Quick Wins and Strategic Recommendations’ presented to the Chief Executive in September 2022 follow a five-step roadmap that would pave the way for the country’s long-term tourism and economic development: (1) increase international visitation; (2) strengthen domestic tourism; (3) promote tourism investments; (4) build tourism infrastructure; and (5) improve the national brand and image of the country by correcting false perceptions and promoting our numerous true qualities.

PSAC Tourism Sector Lead Frederick Go (Robinsons Land Corporation Chief Executive Officer) presented the updates to President Marcos Jr.

The other PSAC Tourism Sector members in attendance included Roberto Claudio Sr. (Philippine Retailers Association Vice Chairman for International Relations); Josephine Gotianun-Yap (Filinvest Development Corporation President and Chief Executive Officer); Rene Limcaoco (Hertz Philippines Chief Executive Officer); Lucio Tan III (LT Group Vice Chairman and Chief Operating Officer); Gie Polanco (PSAC Secretariat Head and Aboitiz Equity Ventures Inc. [AEV] Chief of Staff); Ginggay Hontiveros-Malvar (PSAC Communications Lead and AEV First Vice President of Reputation Management); and Christopher Camba (PSAC Assistant Secretariat Lead).

From the Chief Executive’s side, Presidential Communications Office (PCO) Secretary Cheloy Velicaria-Garafil, Department of Tourism (DOT) Secretary Christina Frasco, Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) Secretary Enrique Manalo, Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Secretary Alfredo Pascual, Department of Transportation (DOTr) Secretary Jaime Bautista, Department of Information and Communications Technology (DICT) Secretary Ivan John Uy, Presidential Adviser on Creative Communications Secretary Paul David Soriano, and Department of Finance (DOF) Undersecretary Maria Cielo Magno attended the meeting.

*  *  *