Malacañang Golf (MALAGO) Clubhouse, Malacañang Park, Manila
March 22, 2022


President Rodrigo Roa Duterte underscored the importance of consolidating and moving forward the Philippines’ agenda on climate change, particularly on Climate Justice and Climate Finance.

In a joint courtesy call of Climate Change Commission (CCC) Vice Chairperson and Executive Director Secretary Robert E.A. Borje, Commissioner Rachel Anne S. Herrera and Commissioner Albert P. Dela Cruz, Sr., the President emphasized the need for principled action to advance the interests of island developing states such as the Philippines in order to ensure an effective global mitigation and adaptation measures through practical partnership and cooperation.

For their part, the Commissioners jointly assured President Duterte that the CCC is committed to further strengthening policy formulation and coordinating mechanisms to advance the Philippine Climate Change Agenda.

President Duterte appointed Secretary Borje as Vice Chairperson of the Climate Change Commission and Commissioners Herrera and Dela Cruz, Sr. for a term of six (6) years.

The Climate Change Commission is the lead country agency for the coordination, monitoring and evaluation of plans and programs of the Philippine Government relating to climate change.

Madame Cielito ‘Honeylet’ Avanceña and Senator Christopher Lawrence ‘Bong’ Go (Member, Senate Committee on Environment, Natural Resources and Climate Change) also attended the joint courtesy call.

* * *