Don Lorenzo S. Sarmiento,
Brgy. Cabinuangan, New Bataan, Compostela Valley
7 December 2012 

President Benigno S. Aquino III led the distribution of family relief packs to the mudslide and flash flood victims of typhoon Bopha locally known as Pablo in the most-damaged areas in New Bataan, Compostela Valley and Boston, Davao Oriental.

In Compostela Valley, the President briefly remarked that his main priority is to find the remaining missing persons and ensure that the onslaught will not happen again in the future.

“Nandito ho kami para malaman, importante sa akin, number one, iyong ating mga nawawala, iyong missing.  Gusto kong ma-account kung mayroon, mayroon po sanang, karamihan kung hindi, kung puwede lahat buhay pa, maabutan natin as soon as possible.  Gusto kong malaman kung bakit nangyari ho itong trahedyang ito.  Gusto kong makita rin kung paano natin maiiwasan ang magkaroon ng ganitong trahedya ulit.  Pero siyempre ho kailangang maasikaso lahat ng nabubuhay ho kaya nandito kami ngayong araw na ito.  Masigurado ring ang gobyerno ay talagang naglilingkod sa inyong lahat,” he said.

He also told the victims that his administration will do its best to speedily respond to the needs of the survivors and asked them to cooperate with the government.

The President, together with DSWD Secretary Corazon “Dinky” Soliman, handed P 10,000 and relief bags containing rice, canned goods, and noodles to the families which are temporarily sheltered in the evacuation centers at Don Lorenzo Sarmiento Sr. Sports Complex and Boston Central Elementary School.

The provincial government officials of Compostela Valley and Davao Oriental, together with other provinces in Mindanao, declared a state of local calamity. The intention of the declaration is basically to control price inflation of basic commodities.

The Chief Executive arrived in Davao International Airport at 10:30 a.m. with Defense Secretary Voltaire Gazmin, Energy Secretary Jericho Petilla, Justice Secretary Leila de Lima, Health Secretary Enrique Ona, Environment and Natural Resources Secretary Ramon Paje and Mindanao Development Authority Secretary Luwalhati Antonino.

 *  *  *