PICC, Pasay City
8 June 2015

President Benigno S. Aquino III revisited the heroism and contributions of the Filipino-Chinese community to the country’s sovereignty and national development as the Federation of Filipino-Chinese Chambers of Commerce and Industry, Inc. (FFCCCII) celebrated in advance the 117th Philippine Independence Day at the Philippine International Convention Center (PICC) in Pasay City.

Presenting a rare photograph of Sun Yat Sen, founding father of modern China, posed side by side with Mariano Ponce, a Filipino-Chinese and close friend of Dr. Jose Rizal, President Aquino reminded everyone of the solidarity that existed between the Philippines and China’s forefathers when both countries fought for freedom and equality of its people. The photo was taken a year before the Philippines acquired its independence in Kawit, Cavite in 1898; while China overthrew the oppressive Qing Dynasty in 1911.

According to President Aquino, despite the ongoing skirmish with China over the disputed waters, the Philippines has maintained strong ties, citing the undeterred influx of Filipino tourists visiting China that reached one million in 2013, despite the disparity of the latter’s 426,000 tourists that visited the Philippines. The same indifference is also palpable in the direct foreign investments record. While the Philippines has recorded a total of US$ 2.8 billion direct foreign investments to China, the latter has only US$600 million direct foreign investments to the Philippines.

“The kind of world we live in today demands greater solidarity from all nations, based on the truism that stronger relationships between nations redound to the benefit of their peoples, and also the entire world… as long as our relationship is strengthened by mutual respect, the determination to maintain fairness and harmony, and a firm commitment to the rule of law,” President Aquino said.

Celebrating the FFCCCII commemoration of the 117th Philippine Independence Day were Senate President Franklin Drilon; Australian Ambassador to the Philippines Bill Tweddell; United States of America Ambassador to the Philippines Philip Goldberg; Interior and Local Government Secretary Mar Roxas; FFCCCII President Nagel Ngu; FFCCCII Chairman Emeritus Lucio Tan; and the following FFCCCII Honorary Presidents: Dr. Alfonso Sy, Ambassador Domingo Lee, Mr. Jimmy Tang, Mr. Vicente Yu, Dr. Robin Sy, Dr. Francis Chua, Dr. John Tan, Dr. Alfonso Uy, Mr. Tan Chiang, Dr. Henry Lim Bon Liong; and FFCCCII officers and members.

* * *