Music Room
22 May 2015

President Benigno S. Aquino III received the officials of World Trade Organization (WTO) led by its Director-General Roberto Azevedo, in a courtesy call held in Malacañang.

Together with Director General Azevedo were WTO Chef de Cabinet, Ambassador Tim Yeend, and Counsellor Aegyoung Jung. Also in attendance on the Philippine side were Trade and Industry Secretary Gregory Domingo, Foreign Affairs Acting Secretary Evan P. Garcia, Undersecretary Carlo Carag of Finance Department, National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA) Deputy Director-General Rolly Tungpalan, and Philippine Representative to the WTO Ambassador Esteban B. Conejos, Jr.

The World Trade Organization is an international organization dealing with the rules between nations in terms of trade openings, trade agreements, and trade disputes. It was established in Geneva, Switzerland on January 1, 1995, with a membership of 161 countries as of 2015.

*   *   *