Malacañan Palace
30 January 2014

President Benigno S. Aquino III met with the members of the Bangsamoro Transition Commission (Transcom), led by Transcom Chair Mohagler Iqbal, minutes after meeting with the Malaysian facilitator Abdul Ghafar Tenku Mohamed in a separate call.

With the recently signed annexes on normalisation that completed the Framework Agreement on the Bangsamoro (FAB), the Transcom can now start crafting the Bangsamoro Basic Law, which will be passed in Congress.

Once passed, the basic law will be subjected to a plebiscite. When the law is finally approved, the Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (ARMM) will be abolished and the Transcom will take over until the election of officials in 2016.

Joining the President were Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP) Secretary Teresita Deles, Finance Secretary Cesar Purisima,  Defense Undersecretary Fernando Manalo, Presidential Spokesperson Edwin Lacierda and Executive Secretary Paquito Ochoa.