International Convention Centre, Brunei Darussalam
10 October 2013

Brunei Darussalam’s chairmanship of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) officially ended when His Majesty the Sultan turned over the chairman’s gavel to President U Thein Sein of The Republic of the Union of Myanmar.

Myanmar assumes the ASEAN chairmanship in 2014 for the first time since it joined the regional bloc in 1997.

The symbolic ceremony was attended by President Benigno S. Aquino III and his fellow ASEAN Leaders, marking the closing of the 23rd ASEAN Summit and Related Summits that was held for two days in Brunei’s capital, Bandar Seri Begawan.

In brief remarks, His Majesty the Sultan conveyed his unwavering support to Myanmar as it takes the lead in convening the bi-annual meeting in Naypyidaw next year.

In response, President Thein Sein expressed that his country would move further the vision for a peaceful and progressive community, and will be taking a leadership role in gaining the momentum of ASEAN achievements.

*  *  *