Rizal Hall, Malacañan Palace
August 6, 2018

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte enacted the ceremonial signing of the Philippine Identification System (PhilSys) Act, coinciding with the presentation of ‘The Organic Law for the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM)’ at the Rizal Hall in Malacañan Palace.

The PhilSys Act seeks to implement a single official identification card for all citizens and foreign residents that would serve as a de facto national identification number, in which President Duterte signed eight (8) copies of the said bill.

President Duterte highlighted PhilSys’ efficiency of delivery of services to the people and easier government transactions, as well as addressed its effect against corruption within the government.

“This will not, just enhance administrative governance, but reduce corruption, curtail bureaucratic red tape, and promote ease of doing business,” President Duterte stated in his keynote message.

In another ceremony, the Chief Executive presented the Republic Act No. 11054 or the Bangsamoro Organic Law (BOL) to Moro Islamic Liberation Front (MILF) Chair Al Haj Murad Ebrahim, which he signed into law two (2) days after his third State of the Nation Address (SONA) on July 23.

In his speech, President Duterte expressed his trust for the law to attain genuine peace, stability, and good governance in Muslim Mindanao.

“Let us give this law a chance to address the Bangsamoro people’s aspiration for genuine change while reserving our bind as a single nation and affirming the sovereignty of indivision of the Republic of the Philippines,” the President said.

The signing of the BOL, previously called the Bangsamoro Basic Law (BBL), is the culmination of decades-long peace negotiations between the Philippine government and the rebel groups in Mindanao. The new law will create the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region in Muslim Mindanao (BARMM) or the Bangsamoro Autonomous Region that would replace ARMM.

The ceremony was attended by the Cabinet members, members of the Senate, members of the House of Representatives, Office of the Presidential Adviser on the Peace Process (OPAPP) officials, members of the diplomatic corps, Philippine Statistics Authority (PSA) officials, and members of the Bangsamoro Transition Commission (BTC).

*  *  *