Heroes Hall, Malacañan Palace
June 16, 2022

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signed the Loan Agreement for the South Commuter Railway Project in a ceremony at the Heroes Hall in Malacañan Palace.

As one of the major projects under the Build, Build, Build Program of the Duterte Administration, the 54.6-kilometer South Commuter Railway Project forms part of the North-South Commuter Railway (NSCR) System connecting the National Capital Region (NCR) or Metro Manila and the Province of Laguna. 

It is set to have 18 stations traversing 10 cities including the City of Manila, Makati City, Taguig City, Parañaque City and Muntinlupa City in the NCR, as well as in San Pedro City, Santa Rosa City, Cabuyao City and Calamba City in Laguna.

Once finished, the railway system will reduce travel time between Manila and Calamba City from 2.5 hours to just an hour. It is envisioned to provide reliable and safe public transport to all Filipino commuters.

* * *