Beijing Capital International Airport, China
9 November 2014

President Benigno S. Aquino III arrived today onboard a chartered flight at 1:20 PM in Beijing Capital International Airport, People’s Republic of China to participate in the 22nd Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (APEC) Summit.

The President together with the members of his delegation was welcomed by Foreign Affairs Secretary Albert F. Del Rosario, Philippine Ambassador to China Erlinda F. Basilio, Trade and Industry Secretary Gregory Domingo, Defense and Armed Forces Attache Col Bonifacio B. Cebrian Jr.

From the China side, he was welcomed by Protocol Ambassador of the Host Government Qui Shao Fang, Beijing Municipality Official, Liaison Officer to the President Li Qinfeng and Security Officer to the President Li Qiang.

President Aquino will be joining the APEC CEO Summit 2014 at the China National Convention Center (CNCC) where he will meet with Leaders of other Member Economies, Ministers and Senior Officials.

With this year’s theme: “Shaping the Future through Asia-Pacific Partnership”, the summit will focus on three priorities: Advancing Regional Economic Integration, Promoting Innovative Development, Economic Reform and Growth, and Strengthening Comprehensive Connectivity and Infrastructure Development.

In his 3-day stay, President Aquino will hold several bilateral meetings with Leaders of other Member Economies to discuss issues of mutual concerns, specifically to promote trade liberation and facilitation, economic technical cooperation, people-to-people connectivity and structural reforms. He will also hold business meetings at the sidelight of his attendance in the APEC Summit.

This year marks the 25th anniversary of the APEC Summit since it began as an informal dialogue group in 1989. Philippines is one of founding member together with Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Canada, Indonesia, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, New Zealand, the Philippines, Singapore, Thailand and the United States. Since then, member economies has increased to 21 with the addition of China, Hong Kong, China and Chinese Taipei, Mexico, Papua New Guinea, Chile, Peru, Russia and Viet Nam.