CCP, Pasay City
31 August 2014

President Benigno S. Aquino III led the 2014 Ramon Magsaysay Awards held in Pasay City.

In his speech, the President imparted that for two generations, the Magsaysay Awards had always served as a call to others, for they gave recognition to those who dedicated their lives serving the oppressed and brought community people together to follow suit.

“This year’s roster is no different, it is composed of individuals imbued with the missionary zeal to promote social justice, and each one of them has taken a personal stand to contribute to the improvement of the communities in which they live,” he said.

Among the awardees are Filipino teacher Randy Halasan, Indonesian anthropologist Saur Manurung, the Pakistani non-govermental group — The Citizen’s Foundation, Chinese lawyer Wang Canfa, Chinese journalist Hu Shuli, and Afghan museum director Omara Khan Masoudi.

“Each of these individuals has confronted, at times, long standing problems or their latest permutations, and found innovative and inclusive ways to address them. In other words, they have not been content to complain, but have been inspired to act, with solutions that are relevant and replicable,” the President added.

Collectively called as “Asia’s Beacon of Progress,” each of the awardees were given different and unique recognition by the Ramon Magsaysay Awards Foundation (RMAF) based on their outstanding contribution.

The Ramon Magsaysay Award is Asia’s highest honor and is highly regarded as the region’s equivalent of the Nobel Prize. It is given every year to individuals or organizations who exemplify former President Ramon Magsaysay’s selfless service to the people.