Heroes Hall, Malacañan Palace
28 August 2013

President Benigno S. Aquino III recognized individuals, groups, and agencies that have made outstanding contributions in the sector of persons with disabilities (PWDs) when he led the Apolinario Mabini Awards rite in Malacañang.

In his remarks, the President said that the examples shown by the awardees as productive members of the society reminds him that he is not alone in bearing all the responsibilities but he has, in fact, partners in pushing for the country’s development.

“Asahan naman po ninyo: Sa pakikipagtulungan ng iba’t ibang ahensya ng ating pamahalaan, at sa pakikiisa ng lahat, higit pa nating maisusulong ang mga inisyatibang mangangalaga sa kapakanan at tutugon sa mga pangangailangan ng ating mga kababayang may kapansanan,” President Aquino added.

The awardees include the following:  Teddy Kahil, Disabled Filipino of the Year; Jaime Tomas Perez-Diaz, Special Disabled Filipino of the Year; Autism Society of the Philippines, Disabled Group of the Year; JP Morgan Chase & Co., Employer of the Year; Dra. Josephine Bundoc, Mabini Presidential Awardee; Comm. Rene Sarmiento, Special Mabini Presidential Award for PWD Rights-Based Advocacy; Erlinda Koe (individual) and CBR Volunteers & Workers for Rizal (group), Rehabilitation Volunteer of the Year; and Ivy Lisa  Mendoza (individual) and Radyo Eskwela, DWYC (program) for Media Advocate of the Year.

The Local Government Unit of the Year Silver Award went to New Lucena, Iloilo; Opol, Misamis, Oriental, and Daet, Camarines Norte while the Bronze Award went to San Jose de Buenavista, Antique.

SM malls bagged 22 out of 35 awards in the Disabled-Friendly Establishment category, including a Special Award on its Program on Disability Affairs “Mapagmahal sa may Kapansanan”.

President Aquino was joined by Phil. Foundation for the Rehabilitation of the Disabled, Inc. president Manuel Agcaoili, A. Mabini Awards Committee chairperson Milagros Drilon and member Zeny Tañada during the ceremony.

* * *