Suntec Convention and Exhibition Centre, Singapore
November 12, 2018

Senior Officials from the Association of Southeast Asian Nations (ASEAN) Member Countries convene for the opening of the 17th ASEAN Economic Community (AEC) Council Meeting at the Suntec Convention Centre in Singapore on November 12, 2018.

As part of ASEAN’s Community Vision for 2025 together with the ASEAN Political-Security Community (APSC) Blueprint 2015 and the ASEAN Socio-Cultural Community (ASCC) Blueprint 2015, the AEC aims to achieve a global community that is “integrated and cohesive, competitive, innovative and dynamic, enhanced connectivity and sectoral cooperation, including a more resilient, inclusive and people-oriented community”.

The 2025 Blueprint ensures integration of the 10 ASEAN Member Countries in the global community, resulting in the regional bloc’s goal of shared prosperity.
Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) Secretary Ramon Lopez represents the Philippines in the said event.

* * *