Labuan Bajo, Indonesia
May 11, 2023

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. convened with his fellow Leaders for the 15th Brunei Darussalam-Indonesia-Malaysia-Philippines East ASEAN Growth Area (BIMP-EAGA) Summit at the Meruorah Convention Center in Labuan Bajo, Indonesia.

Prime Minister Anwar Ibrahim of Malaysia chaired this year’s gathering which has been held in conjunction with the 42nd ASEAN Summit.

During the meeting, President Marcos Jr. discussed developments related to the BIMP-EAGA Vision 2025, with the goal of promoting economic development, strengthening connectivity and sustainably managing natural resources in the sub-region.

The attendees from the Philippine side included Mindanao Development Authority (MinDA) officials led by Chairperson Maria Belen Acosta serving as the BIMP-EAGA Philippines Signing Minister. Assistant Secretary Romeo Montenegro and Director Rodrigo Giducos, both serving in the BIMP-EAGA Philippines National Secretariat, joined her in the meeting.

BIMP-EAGA covers several regions in the Philippines, including Davao Region, SOCCSKSARGEN, Caraga and Zamboanga Peninsula. These regions are strategically located in the southern part of the country and within close proximity to the neighboring countries of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia and Malaysia.

Formally established in Davao City in 1994, the BIMP-EAGA sub-region aims to promote economic development and integration in these areas through enhanced connectivity, trade and investment, and tourism.

*  *  *