Bulwagang Mabini, DFA Building, Pasay City
June 18, 2018

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte spearheaded the awarding of Presidential Awards to selected officials of the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) who have rendered exemplary service in line with the department’s 120th founding anniversary celebration in Pasay City.

Four outstanding diplomats were awarded with the Gawad Mabini, a recognition given to Filipinos who have rendered distinguished Foreign Service, or helped promote the interests and prestige of the Philippines abroad.

The Gawad Mabini with the Rank of Dakilang Kamanong was conferred to Consul General Paul Raymond Cortes; the Rank of Dakilang Kasugo to Consul General Robespierre Bolivar and Vice Consul Luningning Camoying; and the Rank of Kasugo to ATN Officer Eduardo Paraan.

The Order of Lakandula with the Rank of Gold Cross was bestowed to DFA Undersecretary Enrique Manalo, while the Order of Sikatuna with the Rank of Gold Cross was awarded to DFA Assistant Secretary Hellen De La Vega.

In his speech, President Duterte recognized the steadfast service of the nation’s diplomats in promoting the interests and international policies of the Philippines in the global community. He also mentioned the works of the national hero and first Secretary of Foreign Affairs, Apolinario Mabini, to be a role model for the DFA.

“We are fortunate to have Apolinario Mabini blaze the trail upon which we now tread. May his example guide you as we continue to build pathways and bridges for enduring partnerships for our country in the community of nations,” he said.

The DFA traces its roots eleven days after the declaration of independence in June 1898 when President Emilio Aguinaldo appointed Apolinario Mabini as the Philippines’ first Secretary of Foreign Affairs (SFA). To this day, the DFA continues its resilient foreign service that upholds the relations and interests of the Philippines in the international community.

* * *