Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA) Main Office, Pasay City
23 June 2016

In celebration of the 118th founding anniversary of the Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA), President Benigno S. Aquino III conferred the Presidential Awards to outstanding Filipino diplomats and DFA officials held in Pasay City.

In his keynote address, the President recalled a few of the challenges faced by the Filipino community in the height of conflict in the Arab Spring and tension in the Korean Peninsula, Ukraine and the Middle East, and expressed his admiration to the foreign service officers for their dedication to serve not only their fellow Filipinos, but foreign nationals as well.

“Sa kabila ng agam-agam at peligro sa trabaho, hindi kayo natitinag; laging nananaig ang dedikasyon ninyong arugain ang ating mga Boss, ang taumbayan,” he said.

He also gave his appreciation to former DFA Secretary Albert Del Rosario, who, despite his old age and health condition, was able to fulfill his duties for the country.

The 17 recipients were conferred with the Gawad Mabini as Member (Kasugo), Commander (Dakilang Kasugo), and Grand Cross (Dakilang Kamanong), and the Order of Sikatuna Grand Cross (Katangiang Ginto).

Present during the event were DFA Secretary Jose Rene Almendras and a crowd of 500 composed of DFA senior officials and staff, active and former ambassadors, and relatives of the awardees.

*  *  *