Malacañang Golf (MALAGO) Clubhouse, Malacañang Park, Manila
March 29, 2021

President Rodrigo Roa Duterte signed the Supplemental Amelioration Program proposed by the Department of Budget and Management (DBM) that would provide assistance to intended families and individuals affected by the imposed Enhanced Community Quarantine (ECQ) in the National Capital Region (NCR) and the adjacent provinces of Bulacan, Cavite, Laguna and Rizal.

The signing ceremony was held after the President’s weekly Meeting on Coronavirus Disease 2019 (COVID-19) Concerns with selected Cabinet Secretaries and Talk to the People on COVID-19 at the Malacañang Golf (MALAGO) Clubhouse in Malacañang Park, City of Manila.

An estimated 22.9 million beneficiaries or 80% from the low-income population of the five (5) aforementioned provinces will be receiving financial assistance. Funding source of PhP23 billion came from the balance of the Bureau of the Treasury’s (BTr) certified sources for the Bayanihan to Recover as One Act (Bayanihan 2) Validity extended until June 30, 2021 pursuant to Republic Act No. 11519.

The DBM shall directly release the funds to the local government units (LGUs) for distribution to the recipients in the form of in-kind, such as goods or commodities.

President Duterte called on national government officials to expedite the process of aid distribution so as not to add any more distress to the affected people in the ECQ areas.