Ceremonial Hall, Malacañan Palace
September 30, 2022

President Ferdinand R. Marcos Jr. administered the oath of office to the National Executive Committee and National Directorate Members of the 2022-2025 League of Municipalities of the Philippines (LMP) at the Ceremonial Hall in Malacañan Palace.

The Chief Executive congratulated the LMP’s newly elected officers and directorate members in his message, and reiterated their role in promoting a people-centered bureaucracy within the communities they have sworn to serve during their term as local chief executives.

He advised the local leaders to welcome innovations and the latest ways of doing things especially in infrastructure improvement and digital transformation. At the same time, he assured them of support from the national government in undertaking preparations for the implementation of full devolution of functions, including the realization of Devolution Transition Plans for their respective localities.

Mayor Joseph Bernos of La Paz, Abra took the helm as National President following LMP President Emeritus Luis Singson of Narvacan, Ilocos Sur who served from 2019-2022.

The LMP was created in accordance with Section 496 of the Local Government Code of 1991 with the mandate to “organize for the primary purpose of ventilating, articulating and crystallizing issues affecting municipal government administration, and securing, through proper and legal means, solutions thereto.”

*  *  *